Making it in NYC

Just do it already.

2009, it’s been great but GTFO

with one comment

Dear 2009,

Goodbye, It’s been great but get the fuck out.  It’s funny how quick my priorities can change.  I’m happy that I’ve become a very adaptable and quick learner.  I’ve learned to let go of many things this year and I’ve also learned to take in whats around me.

It’s been a year of goodbyes.  I’ve broken up with my girlfriend.  I’ve lost a family member and friend.  I’ve left my first Job.   I’ve not only moved out of my parents.  I’ve stopped driving on a regular basis.  But more importantly I’ve learned to let go and that life will move on even if you’re not ready.

I’ve become someone who I always dreamed of.  I found love within myself and my friends.  I’ve accomplished much more in my year of acting than many would in years.  I’ve sold my first property turning a profit.   I’ve become a better person proving that if you do good things, good things will be returned.

But its time for you to GTFO now, I’m done with the unnecessary drama 2009.  Thank you for making me who i am today but im looking forward to a year minus the troubles and hardships.

To 2010,

I can feel the love already with friends, work, and travel!  I’m not a fan of making resolutions because most of them would be forgotten or easily given up on.

But I do want to make a long-term list of personal goals.
1.  Get into shape – this year I was faced with a very serious personal health issue that luckily has turned out ok.  But now that thought still lingers in the back of my mind.  Part of getting into shape is eating better and living a better life style.   My gym membership is just a decoy, i need to really start treating myself better.

2.  Positive thinking – something very general but I’ve always believed in it.  If you think positively good things will come.  I’ve spent to much of 2009 thinking negatively.  Negatively is contagious, if you surround yourself by it, you will be too.  People always say I’m lucky but i think of it as I’m positive and optimistic.  And with all of the friends and family that has passed away this year, young and old, let the lesson be learned that life is to short to not be happy.

3.  To be Alone – Emo no, but to grow up a little.  Face it, we all have room to grow up, we all make mistakes and say things we don’t mean.  But part of growing up is making those mistakes and learning from them.  One of my fears in life is to be alone, 2010 will be the year I overcome that fear.   I’m not afraid to die, I’m not afraid to take the leap into the unknown.  But i am afraid to be alone.  This I havent figured out how to accomplish yet but I will.

Let the past be a lesson learned and the future become reality.   I raise my glass with you all and wish you all good luck, love, health, prosperity and most importantly

Cheers!  Auld Lang Syne

Written by mikechan007

December 31, 2009 at 8:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mike, very nice post. My mantra for 2010 is: Simple.

    Sounds like you have a similar variation in mind, as well.

    You’re sounding a little more wiser these days, friend.

    Lu

    December 31, 2009 at 8:40 pm


Leave a Reply

